home > people


Communities, Organizations, activists, residents, ARTISTS, AND SCHOLARS

Each year we partner with local communities, organizations, activists, residents, artists, and scholars who become our guides in place across the American Southwest. They deepen our inquiries and experiences, while shedding light on some of the most pressing issues of our times. We travel together, work side by side experiencing alternative creative land-based practices, and attend workshops, lectures, and screenings privileging local perspectives and the wisdom of place. Many of these partners also collaborate on projects with us, in their community, out in the field, and beyond.

Land Arts of the American West

Fracking activist Daniel Tso and visiting SFAI artist Gil Ngolé during the Fracking IS Fracking Reality Tour led by Daniel in Eastern Navajo Agency, Greater Chaco Region, New Mexico. 2017

Tori Arpad
Etta Arviso
Mario Atencio
Tiana Baca
Steve Badgett and Matt Lynch of Simparch
Subhankar Banerjee
Alan Boldon
Borderlands Restoration Network
Malcolm Benally
Jerry Brody
Asha Canalos
Francisco Cantú
Armando Carlos and the Buena Vista Neighborhood Association
Center for Environmental Resource Management at University of Texas, El Paso
Perry Charlie
Matt Coolidge and the Center for Land Use Interpretation (CLUI)
Annie Danis
William deBuys
Sunny Dooley
Joerael Elliot
Larry Emerson
John Fleck
Bill Fox
Carol Fugagli
Graciela Martinez and Hector Gallegos
Mary Lewis-Garcia
Joel Glanzberg
Lori Glover
Michael Govan
Alicia Guzman
Catherine Harris
Steve Harris
Basia Irland
KB Jones
Ruth Le Gear
Su-Ying Lee and Xenia Benivolski of the Feminist Art Museum
Francisco Letelier
Lucy Lippard
Jack Loeffler
Los Jardines Institute
Roberto Lujan
Orien MacDonald
Christine Mackey
Enrique Madrid
Bev Magennis
Patrick Manning
Sarah Montgomery
Museum of Southwestern Biology
Andrea Nasher
New Mexico Wilderness Alliance and Michael Scialdoni
Gil Nogolé
Nils Norman
Northern Diné Youth Committee
Adrian Ogelsby
Chrissie Orr
Judtih Phillips
Ryan Pierce
Andrea Polli
Heike Qualitz
Lucy Raven
Matthew Rangel
Dorothy Redhorse
John Reid
Ann Reynolds
Anna Rondon
Teri Rueb
Roberto Salas and Centro Artistico y Cultural
Santa Fe Art Institute
Alyce Santoro
Kathleen Shields
Buster Simpson
Kathleen Shields
Anna Sofaer
Andrea Steves (FICTILIS)
John Stokes
Marianne Stockebrand
Amanda Stuart
David Taylor
Mary Tsiongas
Daniel Tso
Beata Tsosie-Peña
Valle de Oro National Wildlife Refuge
Karima Walker
Henry Walt
Syrus Marcus Ware
Marzena Wasikowska
Melisse Watson
Cedra Wood
Jonah Yellowman
Blaine Young
Amelia Zaraftis